Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

With the labor-intensive economy giving its way to the education-focus economy, education has become one of the main pillars of the society on which the body of the nation is constructed; therefore, its importance has accelerated among different casts of society, as well. That what is the main purpose behind education has always been a contentious issue. Some people hold the notion that the primary goal of education is to enable people to instruct themselves independently. Whereas some have an alternative perspective and believe that education stands for other aims. In this regard, I stand with the former group for the reasons that will be delved more profoundly in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, teaching students to educate themselves can broaden their perspective and horizon since not every subject is covered in schools and universities. For example, students who are engineering majors are more focused on subjects that deal with calculus and mathematics. This can enable them to form analytical thinking. However, tertiary institutions fail to incorporate social studies in engineering students' curricula. So if they want to gain more information in this field, they have to go after that themselves, which is impossible unless they are armored with the knowledge and skill of how to teach themselves. For instance, I am an engineering major who is really into literature, in different genres of literature and great works of art. Because throughout my school years, I was taught how to study by myself, I was able to broaden my knowledge in that given field and pursue my interest effectively. Of course, dealing with those great works of art enlightened me and helped me grow as a person because I could manipulate different viewpoints that I learned through studying literature in my life.

Moreover, on some occasions, and especially at higher levels of education, the lecturers are preoccupied with their own academic research and cannot devote abundant time to students' teaching. Or in other occasions, the range of the information that the lecturer must cover is so broad that it is not possible to cover all the details in the class. Thus, in instances like this, when students know how to study solely, they will be able to reach higher summits of prosperity. For example, I had a hydrologic course during my master's study, and we had to submit a hydrologic model with SWAT software for its final project. The syllabus and material of the course were so much that they left no time for our professor to teach us the calibration of a model with the SWAT software. Since I had learned how to instruct myself, I was able to learn the program independently and ace the project.

To recapitulate, since having the ability to instruct yourself autonomously can lead one to broaden one's horizon and learn new skills which can come in handy in the latter stages of life or gain extra knowledge in a given field, it seems that the most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves independently. Had it not been for this valuable skill, most eminent scientists could not have reached prosperity since depending on instructors can limit one's success and creativity considerably.