It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

The roles of education in our society cannot be overemphasized. Through education, a good number of theories and facts have been established. However, facts are subject to change and can always be disproved anytime. For instance, one could easily agree to the fact that mercury is the hottest planet is he does not have an understanding of what sponsors planets' temperature. Therefore, I personally would argue that it is critically important for students to have a deep knowledge of their endeavors instead of learning facts that are subject to change. There are two reasons why I feel this way which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, studying to understand ideas and concepts will enable a student to apply his knowledge into solving problems. The essence of education, I believe is for students to be able to apply their knowledge in real life issues. This can only be done if a deep understanding of ideas and concepts are in place. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this. During my second year in the university, I took a numerical analysis course through the mathematics department. Despite scoring 95% in the course, I never understood how it can be applied until my final year of study. It was during a Rock Mechanics class that my understanding of numerical analysis was questioned. I was given a technical project on designing rock support system for underground excavations which requires hands-on understanding of numerical analysis. I had to read over my second year mathematics course again, but this time around, I studied to grasp the concept of numerical modeling. Had I not understood numerical analysis by learning the concept, It might have been difficult to for me to apply the knowledge in my Rock Mechanics project.

Furthermore, studying to understand ideas and concepts will make a student valuable in the industries that relates to his field of study. It is not uncommon to say that industry work demand practical knowledge that is beyond the four walls of the classroom. For example, upon completion of my first degree, I was able to secure a high paying job in a construction company all because I was proficient in using AutoCAD. In contrast, some of my friends who we both submitted application for the job were not shortlisted due to the fact that they could not demonstrate a practical understanding of what we have learned in the class. This example clearly illustrates how important it is for students to understand ideas and concepts in their respective field of study.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that when students learn to acquire deep knowledge, ideas, and concepts of their courses, they will be indispensable in the industries and able to approach real time problems.