Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Reading paper materials is better than watching electronic devices to gain information.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important that we aquire knowledge as much as possible in order to excel in our studies. The methods through which we gain useful information may differ from an individual to another. I personally believe that gathering useful information through electronic devices would suffice in our academic or professional endeavors. There are two reasons why I feel this way which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it is easier to gain insightful information through electronic devices or internet than by perusing research papers. Through advancement in technology, a plethora of data and skills have been made available on the internet, such that would be cardinal to achieving our research goals. My personal experience is a compelling example to illustrate this point. During my final year of study in the university, I was to conduct an investigation on the geotechnical properties of iron ore tailings using an oedometer. My thesis supervisor, having explained the project outline, gave me some already published journals on a similar topic. It took me a number of days before I could bring out a point from the research papers. The reason was because the paper was too turgid and complex to understand. So, I checked online for similar projects and I came across a site where the processes to conduct my investigation were lucidly outlined. Through this online site, I was able to garner up necessary insights that helped me complete my project successfully. Had I not searched online, I could probably have been reading the vague research papers without gaining any knowledge eventually.

Furthermore, by searching through the internet, one can gain necessary skills which are not always available in research papers. For instance, during my undergraduate research, I needed to learn how to use boundary element method of numerical analysis through FLAC 3D software. So, I downloaded a few papers that could help me aquire the skill sets. However, the research papers only gave me theoretical knowledge of the software. It was when I began to watch YouTube tutorials through the internet that I could have a glimpse of how the software is used. Through the internet, I learnt FLAC 3D completely and I successfully achieved my project goals. This example clearly demonstrate that searching information through electronic devices is more helpful than studying research papers.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is better to search for information through electronic means than through research papers. This is because electronic devices provide us with information more easily and can help us gain insightful skills that are not always available in research papers.