Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether knowing the past can help people make important decisions today or not. Indisputably, the past is considered a treasured phenomenon and is revered everywhere. Museums and historical artifacts are preserved and studied even today and are treated with utmost care and respect. Nevertheless, there is no solid proof that determines the worth of past in influencing the choices made for future. Thus it is not surprising to disagree with the general statement that idolizes past for future.

First of all, the circumstances or environments are everchanging. Nothing remains constant over a given timeline even if its an individual's life or that of nation's. To illustrate, consider the world back in 18th century. Comparing it to that of present, it is clear that they are different with little to no common places. Equality is increasing everyday regardless of background, the economy is rising or falling depending upon the place and even the dressing and architecture style used for construction is different compared to back then. Adding to this, if a women was found to be more educated or better versed than the men in the past, they were burned or beheaded. But now, they are offered better positions and working environments. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that considering past experiences in decision process for present problems is unrealistic.

Furthermore, when it comes to an individual's life, many people advise to utilize the past to maneuver the future or present. Assume two women one of which was was scammed by a con artist to invest in an non existent island facilities. After an year the other woman thoroughly investigates an opportunity to invest in 'bitcoins' that fetch millions in current year and invest in it while the first woman passes up the offer in fear of getting conned again. It is clear from the example that it isn't the past experience that needs to respected, it is the cautious nature that develops as years pass by. It is the knowledge to be grounded and inquisitive during questionable circumstances that help make decisions regardless of lack of experience. The two women depict it clearly.

Admittedly, the past shapes the people we are with its ups and down but any situation that is met currently needs a solution that is modern. Imagine a country struggling with water scarcity and the government implemented a solution to extract ground water two centuries ago. It is recently discovered that the ground water is significantly decreasing at the areas where the extraction is set up. The government at present can walk the steps of the past and implement another ground water extraction mechanism at a different place. This solution is short term and does not solve the problem like it did in the past as the water is drained more speedily with over population. But when the government implements rain water harvesting, construction of water conservation tanks and dams using the current technology, it is possible to see long term relief for this problem. Hence the quote "modern problems require modern solutions" is most feasible in this situation.

In conclusion, although past has an importance of its own in sizing and making the nations and people what they are today, it does not majorly impact the decisions that determine the future. In fact in many cases it results in over cautiousness or over relaxation which could in turn decline the development. Unless proper measures or instructions are additionally added or modified to the solutions of past, the statement that "past does not effect future" cannot be refuted. In fact in it is better to abandon this idea and adopt modern solutions.