The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument above discusses the business strategy a manager would like to accomplish. It describes the new features that are introduced in a new mall and the need to reciprocate these features in the Rialto Movie Theater. It also shows a survey where majority of people are displeased with the high prices of the movie theater. Though at first glance the argument looks clear and purposeful, on closer analysis it becomes obvious that the author never answered some important questions.

The reasons for the decline in audience in Rialto Movie Theater is unclear. Is it the outmoded style the movie theater adopted as architecture or the bad service it provides or the lack of features. They also did not give any information on the features that are already available in the movie theater at present. No conclusive reason is stated that could point the potential reason for the downfall of a movie theater that lasted for more than five decades.

Even the claim that the theater is on the way to bankrupt is not supported properly. They have not stated whether there are less number of customers compared to previous years or there is a loss with no change in the number of customers. This ambiguous statements cannot be held accountable to support the need to incorporate the same features as the other new movie theaters unless it is proved that the reason for downfall is lack of features and outmoded style of architecture.

Adding to this, the survey clearly states that 85 percent of the people do not feel comfortable going to a movie by spending more than they can afford. If this statement is assumed to be true then it strengthens the notion to abandon the incorporation of additional features. Inculcating features such as video arcade, plush carpeting and seats and good sound system costs a lot. Their maintenance demands the increase of price of the tickets or the interval snacks like popcorn. This would be counter productive and push away people as stated by the given survey. If the survey is proved to be wrong then the acceptance of the manager notion would be high.

Furthermore, the argument does not answer whether the new mall Apex Theater is experiencing a profit or loss. With all the additional features and posh architecture, if the new mall is experiencing a loss then the whole argument loses its credibility. Additionally, no information is available about the pricing system in the new theater or the reviews given by people appreciating or disregarding it. If the mall is found to have more profit and people appreciation than the Rialto movie theater, it becomes a feasible point to support the manager claims.

Taking all the above questions into account it would be a foolish action to invest in more features without clear surveys and more information. The movie theater is a source of entertainment and hence should strive to attract more and more people. It should take reasonable actions and well versed strategies to establish this task. Rushing into things because they are the present trends without proper research can often be harmful and unnecessary. Because as people say "Trends always change". Hence the manager needs to do more research for his plans.