When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This is a controversial topic on whether modern development should be given precedence over historical buildings or not. Indisputably, historical buildings at current circumstances are largely dependent on the modern technology to stay erect after centuries of environmental abuse. Nevertheless, the claim that modern techniques are superior and should be more revered is not qualified in many situations. Thus, it is not surprising to disagree with the author's given statement.

First of all, there are many structures that have entrenched old architecture and construction style and are still intact today. To illustrate, consider the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt. It is a monument with a technology utilization that is way above what the century it was built had. It has been a topic of speculation and many scientists are still researching over the construction of this phenomenal historical monument. Even after many centuries, it is still intact without any help from modern sources and is placed as the one of the seven wonders of the world. This depicts that the methods used in the past centuries are more long lasting and signify as a symbol of the culture followed by people back then. Hence, the importance of the historical buildings is quite clear with the above discussed illustration.

Additionally, historical monuments though imply modern resources, there existence is to help archeologists and may other related sciences to capture a clearer idea of the kind of people who built it or resided in it. The Mohenjandharo in India is an old site dating back to 8 century. Even though it is almost wiped out due to external factors, the modern technology helped in resurfacing some parts of the site for studying. Historians discovered manuscripts that described the life style of indians before the great flood that submerged Mohenjandaro and gave birth to the river Ganga. The significance of these discoveries is profound and filled many gaps in the history related to Indian civilization. The site is still covered with historians who are set on uncovering as much as they can. Despite the poor condition of the site, the Mohenjandaro acted as a major trove of knowledge. Therefore, the significance of historical buildings does not entirely lie in their intactness or sturdiness but also on their possession of incredible data on the civilization they were constructed in which no modern development could provide.

Furthermore, there are many countries in the world that lack the modern techniques of restoration and still have buildings from many centuries ago. The materials used and the professional architecture and proportions applied to the construction of these old homes have made them immune to the atmospheric effects. These artful impressions made on the buildings have attracted many tourists around the world. The Taj Mahal, known entirely for its delicate designing and mesmerizing art work on its walls is a major attraction for tourists in India. Similarly, many historic manifestations do not just perform as a mine of data about the civilization, but also serves as a revenue to the nation in the form of tourists. Many people, fascinated by the tremendous complexity shown by their ancestors in designing without any technology to aid them, are drawn to these monuments around the world. This kind of attraction is not possible with modern constructions.

In conclusion, the author's claim that modernity should precede historic buildings in the world is a statement with no concrete background nor evident proofs. Unless, modification is administered or additional statements are added to their claim's, it is not possible to take these words seriously. In fact, admitting to these words of the author is a sign of disrespect to many historians, architects, engineers and workers who dedicated their best for these magnificent buildings.