The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author introduced an argument in favor of mandating "Easy Read Speed-Reading Course" for Acme Publishing Company believing better performance as a return. They provided accurate examples and analysis supporting their conclusions. They mentioned the costs of the registration of the course and described how this initial costs are future investments with greater return profits. Stated like this, the arguments project the image of a logical and practical statements with no flaws. But after serious consideration it can be derived that the author left many blanks unfilled and did not bother to validate major assumptions that question the credibility of their argument.

First of all, the author makes a statement that many other companies have adopted the "Easy Read Speed-Reading Course", yet failed to mention the type of the companies these are. To illustrate, assume two shops selling apples and books individually. The owner of apple store opted an approach of throwing away his produce everyday to keep fresh apples for sale and attracted many customers. Following his steps the owner of the book store decided to throw away his stocks of unsold books everyday and suffered a huge loss. Since, both the shops are different in terms of their selling items, it would be more beneficial to follow their own tactics to improve sales, independent of each other. Similarly, if the companies that have adopted these courses are different from the company author is residing in, then it could lead to huge loss. Th e author should add the working and nature of the companies they were inspired from to make their argument more convincing to the readers.

Additionally, the author mentions that the faster one reads the more information they can absorb in a single work day. This statement is a fact and is not questionable, but the author failed to make a connection between this improved reading ability and the performance of the employees. To illustrate, image a student who can read at a speeds of 300 words per minute. But this skill is essentially useless when it comes to solving mathematics. Adding to this, when the student is forced to work with computers or other equipment, this skill remains unused and unnecessary. Similarly, the running of the company and the kind of work the employees perform in the company mentioned by the author determines the need for the introduction of these additional courses. The inculcation of facts regarding the detailed data about the work done by the employees can bolster the words of the author more accurately and clearly.

Furthermore, the members of the course are needed to attend the three week seminar in Spruce City. This infers that the employees need to miss on the work if the company is set in different region or cut back on their working hours to attend the seminar if the company is in the same region. Apart from this there are many assumptions that are left with no pillars of support by the author. Is the 500 dollar cost really a wise investment? Did the "Easy Read Speed-Reading Course" help in securing a promotion by the employees mentioned by the author or there are other factors? Since many others performed in these courses equally, how did only one succeed with promotions while others stayed where they are? Is the lifelong subscription of the newsletter from the course worth the entry costs? How exactly is the productivity measures and what factor were included and left out in this analysis? Without providing satisfying answers to the previously mentioned questions, the author is condemned with an obscure argument with many plot-holes.

In conclusion, the author has constructed a well intended argument regarding improving the performance of the workers or employees of the company they are working in. Though it is a noble cause, the author faced a debacle in creating an appreciative analysis of the recommended solution. Unless, modifications are employed, the argument would come across as wishful thinking rather than a concrete thesis or optimum solution based on substantive evidence.