The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for about five decades needs to make big changes, otherwise it may have to close its doors. The manager of the movie theater states that, the new Apex Theater in the mall outside the town offered a video arcade, high quality carpeting and seats, and also a powerful sound system. Also, according to a recent survey, over 85 percent of the people reported that due to the high price of newly released movies, they watch movies not more than five times a year. So, the manager of Rialto Movie Theater suggests that, Rialto needs to offer same features as the Apex Theater to hold on to it's decreasing customer base. I would like to ask few questions regarding this suggestion of the manager.

First question, What if Apex theater is also facing the same problem as Rialto Movie theater? There might be a possibility that, even after giving such opulent features to the customers, the Apex theater might also be facing a decreasing pool of customers. And so, providing such expensive features might be costing the theater very high. So, if Rialto provides such features and still the customers are not increased, than it might also have to bear the extreme costs of such features and eventually may have to shut down, which if it had kept on working without such features might have been better than shutting down.

Second question, if we consider the survey of people, it states that they watch movie not more than five times a year, then how is Apex theater generating profits by providng such expensive features? The theater has to bear high amount of costs to provide and manage such features, which when compared to people going to watch movie is just five times a year, than how is the theater being able to afford the costs of maintaining the features.

Third question, What are the chances of Rialto theater increasing it's customers after providing the features? The customers might come for the first time after the theater is renovated, but as soon as they discover that it is same as the Apex theater, they might feel that why should we come here, we already have Apex theater providing such features, plus it is in a mall, so we can do more things there. So, this might result in again the same conditions for the Rialto theater as before.

I would like to suggest, instead of following the Apex theater, the Rialto theater should provide something new other than what Apex theater is providing, like certain discounts on food items available, or offers on the tickets of movies, so instead of spending on infrastructure, the theater should spend on providing discounts to the customers, so that they come to watch movie more than five times a year. They should provide complimentary drinks with the movie tickets, and many more such offers to appease the customers to come watch movie to the theater.