As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In recent trends, it is largely seen that people rely heavily on newly invented technology to do their work. However, it is the people only who invents new technology, and use it to make their work less cumbersome. So, it would be probable to say that people only are responsible for their own loss of ability to think for themselves. The statement above holds very much credibility, if we see in today's world, how does people's day start and end, they use automobiles as commute for going to work, at the work place they use laptops, also they use air conditioners for their comfort, to connect with the family members while at work they use mobile phones which use wireless networks for communication.

Also, as more and more technology is being invented it is leading to loss of personal touch within humans. Historically, it is seen that people use to meet every alternate day for leisure, gossip and roam around, which used to relieve stress and enhance the bonds of relationship with everyone, but nowadays, this has been replaced by meeting over the internet, doing video calls, chatting and much more, at last leading to the fact that people are adopting such technology due to laziness, they think why should we go out, rather we can sit at home and meet anyone, at any time we want by making use of the boon (technology). In doing so, humans are neglecting the fact that they are eventually inclining towards gradually reducing the intellectual of thinking about oneself.

Their is no doubt that technology is seeming to be a blessing in disguise. But it can prove to be more harmful than beneficial if not used in a limited way, it is very much necessary to put a restriction in using the new inventions to a particular extent. For example, in earlier times when somebody wanted to get knowledge about a particular thing, he/she would go to library and find about it, but as soon as internet came into being, specially "Google", people have forgotten that libraries exist today also, they simply ask it to their "wireless mentor" who gives them answer in just fraction of seconds. This will lead to eventually extinction of libraries, and also the cerebral capacity of people to think what is good for them and what is not.

However, if we see the positive side of the technology, it has given many good results also. Like, before many people used to face much problems in saving their money, they had nothing much available where they can safely keep their money and earn interest on it, but now today, we can save our money in bank which guarantees safety as well as profitable returns. So it depends on the perspective of how we want to consider technology as, we wish to accept it as a gift or not.

The above statement holds much weight, but contrary to that we cannot ignore the good things we got by invention of technologies.

Finally, I wish to conclude that humans should not regularly use technology in solving the problems, first they should try on their own, and consider technology as a backup, which they can use at last if they fail to solve their problems on their own, they should consider technology as a precious item, and use it wisely only when it is needed, by doing so people can avoid leading to deterioration of their ability to think for themselves. Also, I would like to add that their is very minor difference in utilizing and excessively using the technology, which if people understand than technology can be very very helpful in shaping the future of human kind.