The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from vice president of Quiot Manufacturing, it is stated that they have experienced on-the-job accidents increased by 30 percent during the past year in comparison to the nearby Panoply Industries plant, and the reason for this to happen is assumed to be due to the work shifts being one hour longer at the Quiot manufacturing than at the Panoply Industries plant, leading to tiredness and deprived sleep among the workers. So, to reduce the accidents and increase productivity, Quiot Manufacturing has decided to shorten each of the three work shifts by one hour, so that employees get the required amount of sleep. I would like to present some assumptions in regard of this situation.

Firstly, the reason for on-the-job accidents can also be due to some other factors apart from fatigue and sleep deprivation, like due to the carelessness of some of the employees'. Perhaps, their are many real world cases of accidents happening due to the minor fault or carelessness of the workers. So, instead of reducing the work shift by one hour, Quiot Manufacturing should look into the matter of why did the accident happened and do proper analysis of the reason for accidents, and take actions accordingly if it was due to the ignorance of the employees'.

Secondly, when comparing to Panoply Industries plant, it might be possible that they also had on-the-job accidents, but they tried to suppress the issues by some unethical methods, to save their plant from defamation. So it might not be valid to conclude, that due to the shorter work shift hours at Panoply Industries plant, they have less on-the-job accidents.

Also, it might be possible that the Panoply Indsutries plant face less on-the-job accidents as compared to Quiot Manfacturing not because of less work hours but due to more careful and attentive employees at Panoply Industries plant than the employees' of Quiot Manufacturing.

There can be one more possibility that fatigue and sleep deprivation are not due to more work hours, but due to less advanced machinery or less automated machines available at the Quiot Manufacturing than at the Panoply Industries plant, this leads to workers doing more amount of work as compared to workers at Panoply Industries plant, who have to do less work due to help of automated machinery which reduces their work to great extent.

Finally, I would like to conclude, that their are many other factors apart from the fatigueness and sleep deprivation which might need to be considered for evaluation before taking decision of reducing the work shifts by one hour, because it might lead to decreased productivity instead of increasing it.