The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In todays' world, the society depends on it's youth for bringing betterment or improvement in the society. So, young people need to be prepared in such a way, that they can be leaders in any field, like in any industry or in government or any other field, but they should be taught to make efforts to do things with cooperation and not competition. As we know, to achieve something, we need to make efforts like a team, not like rivals, competing to win something, because ultimately by doing competition we can achieve something personally, not for the society as a whole.

The approach of cooperation, not competition demands patience. For example, their are two people working for a company in software industry, both of them have their own teams, which they have to lead. One team has to create a database of users and the other team has to maintain that database. Now, here the two leaders need to show cooperation, as untill one team completes it work, the other team cannot start doing it's work. So, here patience is needed, if the other team keeps on annoying the first team, that give us work, this would lead to rivalry between the two teams, so both the teams need to maintain patience and do work in a collaborated way.

Cooperation always leads to good results, however, in certain situations competition produces better results. Perhaps, if we take into consideration the example of two giant companies providing internet services. They compete with each other to provide better services, and in doing so they try to provide more benefits to their customers, and in turn try to develop new technologies to provide better services, so this finally leads to the betterment of the society, as it is gaining something not losing anything. But, in leadership, we need to stay steadfast to the sense of cooperation as, the role of a leader is not to walk alone, but to involve everyone and lead the path to success.

Finally, it can be concluded that cooperating is better than competition when it comes to leadership, as leader alone cannot do anything, he has to cooperate with his team of people, or other leaders also. So, the best way to teach the youth the aspects of leadership is, they need to be instilled with a sense of cooperation, instead of competition.