Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's world, it has become very important for each and every person to imbibe knowledge but every person has different potential to learn and grasp it, so that it can be used to improve the life of person in many ways. The above stated claim, "Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.", is not pragmatic. According to the claim, students' who perform well, the teachers' of those students' would receive more salary than teachers' whose students' does not perform well, this is clearly a biased approach. Based on the students' performance, how can somebody judge a teachers' ability to teach? All the students are not the same, each and every student has different mind, and ability to grasp knowledge.

A students' performance not only depends on how the teachers' are teaching, but also on whether the students' want to learn or not. For example, their are two students, who are being taught by a certain teacher. Now, when they are evaluated in a test, first student performs well and the second student performs very badly. So, this happened because the first student was academically intelligent than the second student, who does not want to study. This shows that a teachers' salary has no relation with the students' performance. No doubt, the teacher is responsible for a students' performance, but it is not solely teachers' responsibility, the student also needs to put effort to earn good marks.

Also, if a student is going to a private tution after school, he might perform well than other students in the school. For example, there are two classes A and B in a school with 10 students each, and two separate teachers' for each class. Students' of class A go to private tution, but students' of class B does not. So, students of class A perform well than class B students, this does not mean that the teacher of class B is not good, class A students are getting better practice from private tution also, so it would not be feasible to decide teachers' salaries based on their students' academic performance, as the students might be receiving extra knowledge from outside the school, this would lead to some teachers' getting benefit over the other teachers.

Finally, I would like to conclude, teachers' salaries should not be based on how their students' perform, as this would lead to differences in the teacher community, as some teachers' earning more than other. Teachers are the source of knowledge, creating differences between them by giving salaries according to students' performance, is not acceptable.