The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memorandum by the business manager of a television station, it seems that due to the increased biasness towards the national news over the weather and local news in the late-night programs, the station had received much complaints from the viewers over the past year regarding the coverage of news, also the late-night program faced decreased revenue generation as many local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts, so in order to gain increased revenue and attract more viewers, the television station is planning to restore the time being given to the weather and local news, rather than the national news. I would like to present some evidence to evaluate the argument.

Firstly, you need to think analytically, if you are adopting to a change from routine. It might initially result in less positive outcomes. Same is the case with the television station, it used to show weather and local news during the late-night programs, so the viewers had became invetereate to it. So, when they changed and gave more time to national news, it is possible that initially they might not gain more influence as they had formerly possesed, but may be after certain time, it gains more popularity than the weather and local news used to held.

Secondly, the reason for local businesses cancelling their contracts may not be due to the change in what the late-night programs are showing, but may be due to the local business not generating revenues, so they could not afford the advertising charges and thus rescinding their contracts, at present. But, it is possible that once they again gain revenues, they start advertising. And, their is one more possibility, if the station keeps showing national news, and it may gain popularity, than theire is a chance that new bussinesses might think of advertising during that hour, which would result in increased revenues for the television station.

Also, the reason for complaints of viewers might be because at late-night people might want to see something light-headed so they used to see the weather and local news, but now they had to see the national news only which would mostly contain political disputes, and much more. So my suggestion to that is, instead of shifting back to just local or weather news, the station should try to show the weather and local news between the national news, this would might result in gaining the former viewers as they are getting a mixture of both and also the new viewers who like the national news, which would ultimately result in more businesses thinking to advertise their products during the late-night programs.

So, I would like to conclude based on the evidences stated above, the television station should adopt a intermediate solution to tackle the complaints of viewers, and also to gain more bussinesses advertsing, instead of shifting back to only weather and local news, as it would result in more profit than the station used to generate.