The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation sent by the vice president of human resources at Climpson to the company's president, it is stated that, electronic monitoring of Internet use of the employees should be implemented in order to improve the productivity of employees, and to do so, a software will be installed to detect the employees' internet use on the company owned computers and the employees who are spending more time on personal or other activities like shopping or playing games instead of working will be identified and punished, this will result in preventing employees from wasting time and reducing the work hours spent for unnecessary things and it will also lead to improved work ethic at Climpson, which will ultimately improve the overall profits. I would like to present some of the plausible evidences against the recommendation.

Firstly, it may be possible that in taking such measures, the company might face bitter indignation from the employees who are diligently working, as they might feel offended, because they are not doing such unethical things, and are working with full heart for their company, and still the company is supervising them, this would result in good employees turning rebel, and would stop working with full potential with which they used to work before, and so the aim of company to make better work ethic and increased overall profit would not succeed.

Secondly, if the company tries to put an eye on the employees, than the employees would not like to work in such environment, where they are being supervised each and every second for how much work they have done, this would lead to work environment getting destroyed, and most of the employees would think to leave the company and join somewhere else. This would result in company losing good employees and the main aim of improving the overall profits might result in getting foundered.

Also, if the company puts electronic monitoring on their employees, the company would need to hire employees for monitoring the internet use also, the company would need to pay the monitoring employees, and also who will keep watch on the employees who are monitoring the other employees, they might as well waste time on shopping and other unnecessary activities, as they might have a impression that, we are the supervisors, nobody is eyeing on us, we can do whatever we want, and thus the hope of the company for fostering better work ethic would be destroyed.

So, while concluding I would like to suggest that, the company should provide a pleasant working environment to the employees rather than putting restrictions or supervising and punishing them, also they should be given a proper break time, in which they can do such recreational activities, and during the work hours they should work with full potential, and also the company should follow certain types of reward policies, like if a person works for like 12 hours a day, everyday for 1 month, he will be rewarded with bonus or something, this would lead to employees being more focused on their work rather than wasting their time around, in the greed for bonus.