Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In these days a person is nothing without an appealing image. In fact, they are never late to work on this and hide everything that is in reality. The prompt states that our society worries more about an appealing image than the reality or truth behind it. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this for two reasons.

First, living a doubled reality and offering a different image makes one’s life harder and gives a chance for speculation. Thus, hiding reality makes things hard to progress and causes distress. For example, celebrities that are very worried to have a good image but in fact they have to deal with different problems or diseases that everyone does. They are afraid of speculations, which might make them feel worse or take them to fatalities. They try to keep an appealing image, which many times they fail to. Our society prefers to see the good side and make them suffer in order to keep this image. Time has proven that the truth cannot hide forever.

Further, even though we assume that our society should work on keeping the nice image, this should be based on good deeds and a healthy reality. For example, there are many famous people that built their image by showing how they deal and how they do in real life. There is research that states that sharing information with other people makes them sympathetic and helps them find themselves in famous peoples’ stories. In other words, normal people face many problems, due to luck, health, etc, and find out they are not alone. Thus, the world is small and this is our big home. We need to feel we belong.

Of course some argue that in our society everything should look beautiful, and that is why we should feel great first with ourselves and then for the others. If we do so we will have a better life and less worries. People who ignore their inner voices, will have to suffer but those who don’t will survive the wild society.