Claim: In any field - business, politics, education, government - those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

"Change before you have to," says Jack Welch, the former CEO of LinkedIn. Indeed, change is the law of nature. One can choose to obstinately attempt to stick to the status quo, but the fallout of resisting change can be detrimental. Hence, I completely agree with the claim that in any field those in power should step down after a certain period of time for the reasons outlined below.

History has shown us time and again that a leader allowed to serve indefinitely can leave long-lasting footprints that become hard to erase. Such leaders become too powerful, in that they acquire so much clout that they can influence crucial system mechanisms and are able to erode the system from within. Take for instance, the recent constitutional reform that took place in Russia, which allows the President to serve two more terms. It comes as no surprise that the current President of Russia, who has been serving for the major part of two decades, has gathered enough influence in the government that this reform was voted in with minimal objection. While there is substantial evidence of election fraud, any investigation into it will undoubtedly be nipped in the bud by the party in power. This near-elective dictatorship in Russia has curtailed individual freedom, infringed upon human rights, and oppressed progressive attitudes for years. Thus, it is in the best interest of the public to compel leaders to renounce their position once their tenure is over.

Building on the same premise that too much power for too long is deleterious to the public good, it follows that when the time comes for a change in leadership, there may be social and political upheaval. For this reason, many have advised against a change in the political climate of North Korea, for example. The obvious reason is that the dictatorship has been in place for so long that there is no democratic system ready to replace it and no individual or group prepared to take charge. This uncertainty may leave the country vulnerable to economic and military insecurity, and exacerbate the situation. Contrast this with a democracy where frequent elections take place after five years, such as India. Surely, there is uncertainty when the elections occur - the stock market becomes volatile, for example. But normalcy resumes almost immediately once the results are declared. Evidently, it is better to have frequent changes in political leadership at predetermined times than to leave it to whenever it may happen.

Lastly, the success of any enterprise is the result of the right ideas applied at the right time by the right people. When seniority steps down to give a chance to the youth, new ideas abound. For example, when Satya Nadella became the CEO of Microsoft about a decade ago, Microsoft was struggling. Times had changed, but Microsoft had yet to catch up. It was still trying to apply the same old strategies to a disrupted industry. While the Nokia phones were the pioneers of their time, smartphones were ahead of them by leaps and bounds. Nadella essentially reinvented the company and put it in direct competition with the leaders of the smartphone market - first with the Windows Phone and then with the newer Nokias. Compare this with BlackBerry, who failed to keep up with the flow. Had BlackBerry reorganized themselves so as to give a voice to their younger workforce, maybe they would not have fallen into obsolescence.

The question remains, although, about what should be the tenure for which a leader may serve. In politics and government, where change is crucial and influence grows with time, a 4- or 5-year term limit seems reasonable. However, in business, education, or other innovative fields, a strict term limit may not be judicious. Change should occur in these enterprises when a need for it is felt, by measuring the competition, the market trends, and the relative progress that the enterprise has been making in recent time. The serving period of leaders can be as long as multiple decades (as was in the case of the burgeoning Microsoft when Bill Gates was the front-man), or as little as a year if the leader fails to deliver on performance.

To conclude, it is easy to see that enabling any enterprise to be led by different people over time is beneficial for the enterprise itself and for the people it affects. Whether that change should be made mandatory after a fixed time period or if it should be flexibly arranged depends on the nature of the enterprise and the sort of influence it has on the people affected by it.