Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

The issue topic given states that some people believe that it is often necessary for political leaders to withhold infomation from public while others believe thatthe public should be informed. On one hand revealing all the information to public might be dangerous whereas on the other hand it will increase the transperancy between the government and its citizen. Consequently increasing the trust level. This is, thus, a contentious issue and needs scrupulous analysis before reaching any conclusion. However, in my view, all the information should not be made available to the public.

To begin with, there are few very sensitive information that should not be given in the hands of public. Some of these are nuclear codes, defence strategies, defence formations, equipments etc. If these are made public, then it would be catastrophic for that country. Terrorists and countries all over the world would know about the particular countries defence positions and other necessary information. The country would become so vulnerable to attack and there won't be much what it could do as all the strategies and positions are out there. The country will be ruined. For instance, few years ago India put a surgical strike on POK (Pakistan Occupied Kashmir) when terrorists hiding in POK attacked India. This surgical strike had great significance and was a topic of debate all over the world. Now, consider all the information public. What would have happened? The attackers in POK would have evacuated the area or at least be prepared for the attack and this would have cost a devasting effect. Another example could be of publicly available nuclear codes. Similar situation would arise and there won't be much for the country to protect it. Thus, there are a lot of sensitive information that, if made available, would result into catastrophe.

Furthermore, in a democratic society, there are certain bills and laws that are being disccused and debated and then passed. They are not yet passed. However, if this information is made public, the opposition party would try to find all the possible flaws of the bill in order to influence the citizens against the bill. If the opposition party got successfull in finding some convincing flaws then it can start revolts all around the country. Then, the opposition party will have only two choices viz repudiate the bill or amend the bill to cover all the loop holes. This will either lead to never passing the law or delaying it. However, it could have proved to be really useful and could also have increased nation's development. But, because this information was made public, this useful law could not be enforced.

However, there are also many advantages about making the information public. This includes increased level of transparency between public and government, increased level of trust between both the parties, make the government more accountable and this will instigate a national debates which would prove to be beneficial as there would be more ideas towards the law to make it increase it's efficacy.

Although there are some benefits of making all the information available to public, but doing this can have many repurcursions and might lead to complete devastation of that country. Thus, all the information should not be made public especially the sensitive ones mentioned above.