To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

The given prompt concludes that in order to reverse a decline in listerner numbers, the owners decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. To bolster this argument the author has provided certain evidence. Firstly, the population in their area has increased. Furthermore, that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. Thus, WWAC must switch to a music format tailored to their tastes even though there is a decline in sales of recorded music suggesting limited interest in it. Thus, WWAC should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in their area. Even though, the author has provided certain evidence, the argument has many assumptions which can be exploited to undermine the author's argument.

Firstly, the author assumes that the growing population of retired people have enough awareness about WWAC rock-music. However, this might not be the case. The people shifting here might not be much aware about WWAC and its rock music format. Thus, instead of changing to news and talk, WWAC should focus on advertising their rock-music format. It is possibility that this might increase awareness and in turn increase the sales of their rock-music. In fact, it is probable that people might like it so much that the boost in the sales may be commendable and hence there might be no need to changing the format to news and talk shows.

Secondly, the author does not provide much information about the duration in which the data is collected. There might be the case where people are retiring almost every month and hence are shifting in their area. This means that they have to get settled and get accustomed to their way of life. This might take time and hence, duration of the data is crucial in determining it. If the data is just a year of 6 months old, then there is a high probability that people are still getting use to the life. This means that they may not have time to try different genre of music. Hence the duration of the data is of vital importance and can't be ignored.

Lastly, the author author assumes that the number of shops that sold music (in general) have more or less been the same. However, it is a high probability that the number of shops have reduced. Consequently, the shops that are still working are at a great distance. Hence people might not want travel there only to buy certain rock-music. Hence instead of focusing on changing the format of their rock-music, they might have to buy or rent a shop which provides easy access to their music. This might again restore the sales of local music and preclude the possibility of changing the format.

Thus, all the above points attack the basic assumptions of the author undermining the conclusion. Furthermore, there might be more assumptions on which the author's argument is based and they can be attacked if they have a potential flaw. Thus, these weaken the argument and in turn the conclusion stated by the author in the above passage.