A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

The prompt provided concludes that for a business to prosper, it should hire only people who needs less thatn 6 hours of sleep per night. The evidence that the author provides to support the argument is the survey conducted which consisted of 300 men and women executives. The survey recorded the average number of hours the firms executives slept per night. The result were that the firms whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. This, thus, forms the basis of conclusion of the author. Even though, author has provided some evidence, the conclusion still contains many flaws and ignored other factors that may play a vital role in the success of a firm.

To begin with, the firms with greater profits might have higher number of execuives and advisors in general that provide a keen judgement in decisions. For example, the units of work per person in firms having small number of executives is much greater than those who have higher number of individuals. As a result, this may result into increased pressure on an individual. Furthermore, it is possible that the more the number of exectives, the more flaws are detected in any decisions the firms make. Thus, it weakens the argument of the author.

Furthermore, the firms with greater profit margins might already be established wheareas the ones that have lower profit margins are still inchoate and thus, they have a less profit margin to boost their sales. They might have to reduce their selling price and focus more on the outreach of thier prouct. This, may reduce the profit margins. In fact, it is also the case that they may be selling their product at the same selling price of as that of the established company. However, because they have competitition with that of established firms and thus, invest more in marketing and advertising their products; Thus, in turn lowering the profit margins.

Nonetheless, the author has stated that firms that have executives requiring no more than 6 hours of sleep prosper and have higher profit margings. However, the author has ingnored the fact that it is possible that the executives who require less than 6 hours of sleep might be working harder than those who require more than 6 hours of sleep. The executives who require more than 6 hours of sleep are relaxed and slower than those who don't. As a result, the decision process and other vital ideas may be implemented slowly in the firm with executives required more than 6 hours of sleep. Moreover, the author ignores the calibre of the executives. The firms having higher profit margins might have executives for higher calibre and are able to make fine decisions, identifying flaws, proposing ideas, experience they might have (if the executive has experience far more than executives of other firms, then they are likely to have greater profit margins and prosper) etc. Consequently, the firms should focus more on hiring executives that have higher academic accomplishments and intelligence (not focusing much on sleep patterns of the job seekers).

All the points stated above undermine the conlusion stated in the prompt. Thus, there are numerous other factors that might play important role in deciding firms profit margin.