Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This is a rather ambiguous question. On one hand, one should keep old friends due to bonding they already share whereas on the other hand, making new friends increases your network. However, I completely agree that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. The essay constitues of the reasons in order to support the above opinion.

Firstly, the old friends are more valuable than new friends. With new friends, you need to be careful of what you speak, how you behave and need to know the nature of other persons first in order to bond with them. On the contrary, with old friends you share a very strong bond. You have spent most of your time together and already know the nature of them. So you do not have to be formal with them which might be the initial case while making new friends. Not only that, you are already comfortable with your old friends and you can really be yourself without having the fear of being judged which might not be the case while making new friends. Thus, the characteristics like strong bond and being confirtable makes old friends more valuable than new friends.

Secondly, old friends have a lot of great memories to cherish. They can talk about them during reunions. I have already been through this. Once, all of my old, school friends decided to get together after two years. We all were so excited about it. In fact, when we met, we spent considerable amount of time catching up about what they are currently engaged in. However, most of our time was spent reliving the happiest moments of our life and the craziness that we shared. That day we all also realized important are we to each other. Thus, memories are something that can't be quantified as it is priceless.

Lastly, in addition to having strong bonds and great memories, old friends are ready to help whenever there is a situation which requires assistance. It does not matter whether this situation is financial or a fight in a relationship or about one's career, they will always be ready to help and be there for you. That is something that is in short supply nowadays. Furthermore, since you are already comfortable with them, you won't mind sharing theses situations to them which might be difficult in case of new friends. For example, you might be in a fear that other person might take advantage of this situation or might not understand it whereas this is not true for old friends. Instead of this, they will try to provide a plausible solution to the problem. Even though it can not be guarunteed that they will always come up with a solution but they will surely mitigate the problem. For example, they might console you or make you beleive that the problem is solvable.

To conclude, based on the three reasons stated above viz value or importance of having them in your life, memories that you can cherish and their readiness to help without any fear, one can say that it is very important to keep your old friends rather than making new friends.