The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

The given prompt states that the greatness of the individuals can be decided only by those who live after them and not by their contemporaries. On one hand, the individual himself has worked hard with diligence in order to build an empire (or industry of in fact excelling in any field) along with facing serious competition from his contemporaries whereas on the other hand, the individual could not sore higher due to some limitations but leave the basic foundation or ground work for his future generations to build upon. This is, thus, a very contentious issue and requires scrupulous analysis in order to reach any conclusion. However, I agree that the greatness of individuals can be decided by those who live after them.

To begin with, greatness of a person shortly means the accolades he or she has achieved in his or her life. Along with that, the foundation that he or she leaves for the upcoming generations to build upon stands a great deal and is considered as one of the major parameters for the greatness of the individual. For instance, take the case of movie "Iron Man 2", Tony Stark (the protagonist of the movie), was dying because of the palladium core used in miniaturized arc reactor he built. However, the original idea of arc reactor was that of his father. His father (Howard Stark) had already foreseen such a problem and thus already built Tony the foundation required for him to built a new element that would replace palladium and save his life. Tony Stark was thankful for this. Consequently, it proved to be beneficial. Coming to the real world, take the example of Mukesh Ambani. His father Dhirubhai Ambani had already laid the ground work for him to build his entire empire. Today, he (Mukesh Ambani) is one of the top 10 richest person in the world. The heights acheived by Mukesh Ambani is commendable. Thus, the future generations determine a lot about the greatness of the individuals.

Moreover, suppose that the individual has proposed a very unique and great idea helpful to expand the business to a commendable level. However, limited by the technology or tools of his or her time, he or she is not able to implement the idea. This is where the younger generations, with all the tools and technologies at their disposal are able to implement the remarkable idea; Consequently, the success is attributed majorly to the one who proposed the idea. Thus, the offsprings must play a major role in deciding the greatness of an individual.

However, it is not always the case where the young ones decide the greatness of the individual. In some cases it is also possible that the competition faced by the individual due to the comtemporaries is the deciding factor of the great achievments of the individual. Take the small case of an ivy league university student. Almost all of his collegues have the same intellect as his and doing some commendable work in their fields. As a result, the student is motivated to keep up with the pace at which their competitions are working and thus push themselves to the boundaries and achieve a lot of success. Thus, there are some case where the contemporaries play a vital role in deciding the greatness of an individual.

In conclusion, even though there are some cases where contemporaries help give the required push to the individual and lead them tot the path of greatness, we can observe most of the cases where the younger generations play a vital role in deciding the greatness of an individuals. Thus, it can be aptly concluded that the major parameter for deciding the greatness is by those who live after them.