In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits

The author in the passage concludes that usage of Internet is the major reason that lowers the productivity of employees. He even states that Climpson should monitor the Internet usage by installing software on companies computers and should punish those who uses Internet inappropriately from their workstations. This includes hours spent on personal or recreational activities such as shopping or playing games etc. Thus, to foster better work ethic at Climpson and improve their overall profits, tracking each employees Internet usage is the best way. Even though, the author has provided quite convincing evidences, there are many asssumptions or technicalities that the author has not coveres and are potential flaws that, if true, weaken the authors argument and in turn the conclusion.

To begin with, the author assumes that employees spend myriad hours in personal or reacreational activities viz shopping and games. However, this might be entirely false. A person might be surfing the net to look for ways in which the profit of a company can be increased. He or she might actually want to make the company prosper and hence is watching youtube videos about ted talk that is germane to their company's motto. Even if he or she is spending time in playing games or other activities, the company can not just punish that person without being fully informed about the reason as to why he was doing so. It is a probable scenario that he had completed all the pending work that was assigned to him. He could have gone home but as a responsible employee he waiting until when everyone was leaving. He was waiting in case some work comes up. These possible cases weaken the author's argument and hence the company should not rely solely on the data collected by tracking internet usage.

In addition, it is not wise to just track the internet usage. If the company is adamant in tracking the usage, it should also track where is it being used There are many probable scenarios like the one stated above that they are actually doing some productive research on the internet. If the company punished such employees then that might result in that employee leaving the job because of negative work environment.

Furthermore, the hidden technicalities that might be faced during the implementation of a such an idea is also not covered in the passage stated above. To track the internet usage and to store the data for thousands of emplyees is not an easy task to achieve. In fact, the company can not infer anything about the data usage in a small amount of time like a day or a week. It has to store data for months to get useful inference. Hence to manage that much data, they might have to employ more people. Hence, instead of improving profits, it is possible that the complany would incur loss. Thus, all the scenarious mist be considered before stating a conclusion.

Lastly, there might be many more cases which undermine the author's argument. This might include the privacy issues. Thus, a company should always consider all the case scenarios before concluding a final judgement. Thus, all the above points stated undermine the conclusion presented in the passage.