The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense a cooperation, not competition.

The given prompt states that for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. On one hand, cooperation helps in the exchange of ideas and detection of potential flaws that may incur while implementing those ideas whereas, on the other hand, a tough competition may push the boundaries of an individual making him achieve higher success. This is thus a contentious issue and needs scrupulous analysis to reach any conclusion. However, I strongly agree that cooperation will definitely prepare young generations in developing their skills and leadership qualities.

To begin with, cooperation involves a variety of different minds working together on the same project or idea figuring a way to either improve or implement (or both) that. Consequently, they are able to learn stuff from each other including leadership qualities. Consider a small situation of a university student. For completing a project at hand, the student has two choices viz completing it all by himself in the given deadline or work in a team of 4-5 peers and engage collectively to make the project even better. If he prefers the first option, he might end up either not being able to submit it on deadline because of the complexity of university level projects of will take much stress will do only to complete it by the deadline. In fact, his main approach would be to be able to complete the project before the deadline. Instead, if the students work collectively they not only be able to complete the project on time but will also learn stuff from each other. Hence, it is crucial that young generations learn to work in a collaborative environment which benefits the whole group.

Furthermore, having a sense of cooperation, especially on the part of a leader, will instill trust in others who are part of a group. This will in turn help in earning teammate's cooperation. The leader will not only acquire skills like management and reviewing, in depth, each and every idea pitched in by the members. He or she will even be able to absorb the constructive criticism he might recieve for sharing a potential idea. Consequently, the flaws in the idea will be easily recognized and could be amended considering all possible case scenarios. This further strengthens a sense of cooperation.

However, one must never forget the importance of competition in pushing an individual. There is no better motivation than transgressing your competition. People will really try harder and harder, coming up with new ideas, implementing them with each and every functionality etc. They will feel, what in modern slang, is called "FOMO" (Fear of missing out). In fact, many executives of the firm are using this method to their advantage to spread their products, services etc. This also means that an individual, looking at the attempts of their competitors, will hence strive to surpass them and will in turn benefit the society to a huge extent.

Even though, there are some advantages of competition, there are various noxious disadvantages as well. Competition might persuade an individual to think in a criminal sense. He or she would want to clear the tracks and want to demolish others whereras in cooperation this might no be the case. The individual will prove to be beneficial for the society and mark the upcoming of new potential leaders. Thus, instilling a sense of cooperation is far more beneficial than competition.