Claim: Group assignments that students must

work together to complete should replace a

substantial amount of traditional lecture-based

instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain

experience collaborating with peers to study a

topic and to achieve a common goal.

The provided claim for the issue that group assignments should be replaced with a substantial amount of lecture timing because it is important for students to learn and develop collaborating skills is a contentious issue. On one hand, lectures can provide insights to a student because of constant engagement with the faculty. While, on the other hand, students collaborating with other colleagues could provide a valuable skill that might be an integral part of their career. However, in my point of view, a student might benefit a lot from lectures and engagement with a professor.

Firstly, if a student is constantly engaged in a collaboration with his or her peers then that student will not be able to develop any individual learning skills which is an important aspect of the career. For example, a student who always works on a project with a team will get trained or habituated to work as a group. This student might not be able to think as creatively and effectively as he would have thought if he or she were in a group. Furthermore, if a student works always tends to work with a particular group of students, then that too, will pose a problem. Here, the student is not only working the majority of his or her time in a group but also conversing with the same people. This might not develop his social skills with which the aim of the collaboration was originally formulated.

Secondly, the issue claim is based on the assumption that the lectures can not be collaborative. However, with the growing digital technology, the faculties could form a community on many platforms for students to share ideas and collaborate. In fact, the faculty could also directly assist them in case the students need them. This will help save a lot of time for students. As an example, consider a hypothetical scenario where the students of computer science and engineering are developing a website based on face recognition that uses machine learning. The students might get stuck for a long trying to solve an equation that can have a simpler alternate approach. As a result, they might end up wasting a lot of their time trying to solve it. Had there been more time devoted to lectures, the students could ask the faculty who could have aided the procedure and saved a lot of time.

However, with the huge benefits of lecture-based instructions, a student must have the skills to take part in a collaborative environment. Along with the ability to comprehend and learn skills individually, a student should engage in teamwork and provide his or her assistance in his or her area of expertise. This not only improves their social skills but also helps them to appreciate and learn from other's ideas. Thus, in conclusion devoting more time to traditional lecture-based learning along with small collaborative projects might prove to be much more beneficial to students than focusing just on either of them.