Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

The author of the passage concludes that the interview-centered method is more effective than observation-centered method. In fact, the autor invalidates that observation-centered approach carried out by Dr. Field. Furthermore, the author has sent his team, with interview centric purpose, for getting more accurate details about it. The justification author provides to bolster his argument is that Dr. Field "observed" that children were raised by an entire village, However, his study interviewed children and they were talking about their parents in majority of the cases. Hence, he invalidated Dr. Field's conclusion and observation. Even though the author has provided many evidence to show that child is raised by their biological parents and observation-centric perspective is invalid, the argument and consequently the conclusion is flawed. Hence, they will weaken the conclusion.

To begin with, the author has stated that he interviewed only children and they were talking about their parents the majority of the time. However, only interviewing children might prove to be a serious mistake. The other people in the village might not help in raising the child directly but provide indirect assistance. For instance, they might be providing support in case of health issues that might add up to a huge sum, or they might be helping the parents in financial conditions, providing them fees to pay to the school. As result, they are not spending much time with the child but in a way they are raising him. Consequently, the child thinks that his or her parents are the only one that are arranging for everything. Hence, he might be talking about his or her biological parents more. Adding to that, the villagers might be providing moral and emotional support. This might prove to be crucial to child even though he is not aware that they are helping their parent in raising him or her.

Furthermore, the author has not mentioned the age group of the children that was interviewed. There might be the case that the children belong to a younger generation and hence favor their parents more during the interview as they might not be aware about the help that other people in the village are providing. Had the author covered a wide range of age groups, the outcome might be different. In fact, it is a possibility that the his interview centric approach might have resulted in that same conclusion as that of Dr. Feild.

Lastly, the author has generalized that interview-centered approach is much more effective and precised than observation-centered approach. However this might be seriously flawed. There is a possibility that children are biased during an interview. However, observation can't be biased. Furthermore, there might be the case where the author coincidentally interviewed only those children whose parents don't have very good relation with other people in the village. However, while observing, one always looks at the bigger picture. Hence, the details captured might be greater when observation-centered approach is prefered rather than interview-centered approach.

Hence, to conclude, all the above points stated undermine the authors argument. In fact, there might many more flaws that can be exploited to further undermine the conclusion.