Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

The given prompt claims that no act is done purely for the benefit of others. The reason provided is that all actions including those that seem to be done for other people are based on self-interest. On one hand, there are some people or organizations that genuinely aspire to help others whereas on the other hand we can observe majority of the cases where so called selfless act includes self-interest in one form or the other. Needless to say, I agree that the there are almost no acts that are done purely for the benefits of others.

To begin with, there are majority of the people that only pretend to do a selfless act. But, in most of the cases there is self-interest involved, be it in the form of monetary gains or in the form of premium membership to an exclusive club. In fact, there are a variety of benefits that one can exploit for helping others. For instance, there are many famous personalities like Akshay Kumar and other actors in Indian cinema, some famous footballers like Cristiano Rolnaldo and Lionel Messi have donated a huge sum of money for covid relief in various parts. In fact they have donated entire hotels and converted them to hospitals when covid-19 was in its peak. There is no doubt that these helped a lot of people suffering from covid, but in turn they increased their prestige. These huge sums might not be anything for them but still their reputation and image was uplifted in the eyes of public. Hence, there is a very high possibility that the people are involved in self-interest in some way or another.

Furthermore, these donations are recieved by NGO's (non-governmental organizations). These NGO's also get the grant and priviledges offered by the government along with the dontations for their act. They, in turn, educate poor, disabled children and help those in need. Indeed they might do so, but, of the children that they have taught, there are not many examples of those who have actually enroled in a reputed university or their lives are better than their previous ones. Either they live in penury for most of their lives, or join a company at the position of a clerk or peun. Who knows what happens to the huge grants and donations that they recieve.

However, there are a few examples of people who have helped a lot with no intention of self-interest. Take the example of Sonu Sood, an Indian actor who majorly playes the role of villain in a movie, he took the risk of his life to arrange for travel for those citizens who could not go to their homes because of sudden lockdown in covid-19. There was no monetary gain involved and unline those mentioned above, he did not just sit at home, funding and paying men to arrange for the travel. He would have done that if his intension was increasing prestige. Instead he personally made sure that everyone reached their home safely. In fact, there are examples even at smaller levels. FOr instance, asking someone for help to make an urgent call in case of an emergency is a selfless act. No one asks for anything in return. On the contrary, they readily provide their cellphones. Thus, there are some cases where we can see that self-interest is not the intention of helping others.

Even though there are certain instances where the act was done as a favor and not so as to expect something in return, there are majority of the cases where there is always slef0interest involved. In conclusion, majority of the acts done are based on self-interest.