Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The prompy provides two situations one in which the young adult wants independence from their parents as soon as possible and the second where they prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Although both of these are subjective and may depend from person to person, for me, I would choose the latter situation of staying with families for longer time. The reasons for this are stated below.

To begin with, the young adults that live with their families for a long time might be more career oriented as compared to their counterparts. This is because, there would be a constant check and pressure from the families to excel in exams, get a degree and have a sustainable job. Not only this, the person who lives with his or her families might know about their financial situation and might want to mitigate it (in case the financial income is not that great). This becomes one more reason for an individual to be career oriented. However, I am not saying that all the young adults who are independent are not career oriented. Exceptions can occur from both sides. A person living with family might not be career oriented whereas a person with complete independence might be career oriented. All I am implying is that there might be more chance of a young adult to be career oriented when he or she is living with his or her family.

Secondly, the person living with his or her family really bonds close to his or her families compared to the one that lives away or has the desired independence. I can relate this because my cousin who lives in other part of the country is not that attached to the family as compared to his brother. This can be seen because he does not like to enjoy family dinner or is constantly engaged with his or her friends over phone while his brother loves to spend time with family. Furthermore, the family values might be learnt more by the one who lives with his or her family. This might make a huge impact and affect or change the overall personality of the person.

Finally, the person living with his or her family can get immediate help from other members of the family in the times of crisis. There can be various types of crisis viz financial crisis, health crisis, relationship crisis etc. Suppose for instance that the an individual had with an accident. He or she could be in an hospital after that and if he or she lives with family then they could reach out to him immediately and take care of him or her. In contrast, it might take hours if not days to reach out to an adult who has independence from their parents and lives far away.

To conclude, living with families can affect a person's life to a huge extent. Furthermore, having independece might push an individual away from the family making this relationship a formal one while it shouldn't be the case. Hence, I think that young adults should prefer to live with their families for a longer time instead of desiring independence from their parents.