Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Young adults should seek to gain independence from their parents as soon as possible. From behavioural studies, it has been shown that individuals who break free from the protective care of their parents at the appropriate age of a young adult tend to achieve more in life. This is not to say that other young adults who generally prefer to stay with their parents as they approach adulthood do not amount to much, yet their counterpart who gain independence early tend to out-perform them.

Considering the natural ecosystem and behaviour, eagle, for instance, devote only stipulated amount of time with their young ones. While the eagle is not negligent as a parent, it innately understands the importance of letting the young ones go as soon as they near maturity, as survival - the key to mastering the jungle - is a skill best learnt through early independence from parental care. The eaglets that take initiative and break free from their parents nests thrive better in the wilds.

Asides the wild, let us look closely at the humans of the present generation. Young adults who stay longer with their parents have a harder time developing good social skills. A 17 years old male who mainly stays in his parents basements playing video games would have a harder time building relationships that could lead to lasting friendship or marriage.

A curious case is that of medical student who due to the structure and duration of their learning have to rely on their parents through their early adulthood. Even then, it is not uncoming to find among these medical students married couples supporting themselves with part-time jobs. And these independent ones usually come out on top of their peeers in their studies as well.

Ultimately, to grow a generation of capable young adults, it is of utmost importance that they learn to break free of parental-care early.