The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement:

“A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we can institute this test as routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet.”

The argument that the new medical test will prevent the deaths of people all over the world is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the argument assumes that the added six months to one year to the treatment period of the disease makes it curable. However, this assumption does not hold if the disease has no cure, it would serve only to increase the anxiety of the infected who will have to spend extra six months worrying about their impending demise. In this case, it would have been better if the test was not instituted.

Second, the argument never addresses the feasibility of integrating the new medical test globally. Seeing the test is still new and often times solutions that are just created may be quite expensive to replicate, how does the director plan to overcome this challenge and successfully institute the test all over the world? Even if the test is made available all across the world, it would be presumptuous to think that everyone can afford it.

Again, no proof was provided to show the reliability of the test in the long-term. Although, the argument states that the test has helped doctors diagnose the disease earlier when compared to conventional means yet it fails to give adequate premise to show that the test has passed every required medical approval and is ready for public use. Despite some extremely successful trials of the test, it would be unwarranted to assume that people everywhere would eagerly embrace it.

Finally, should the test be accessible to all and sundry, we do not know if the expertise to administer it is ubiquitous as well. The argument fails to justify that doctors and other medical practitioners all over the world possess the technical know-how to read the tests appropriately.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the conclusion that the new medical test's six month to one year early detection of a disease will prevent deaths of people all over the world is insufficient. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened by providing more information in support of it curability, ease of replication, affordability, and reliability.