The director of the International Health Foundation recently released this announcement:

"A new medical test that allows the early detection of a particular disease will prevent the deaths of people all over the world who would otherwise die from the disease. The test has been extremely effective in allowing doctors to diagnose the disease six months to a year before it would have been spotted by conventional means. As soon as we can institute this test as a routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for various reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that diagnosis and recovery from a deadly disease are the same, rendering the main conclusion that implementation of the test equals proportional death rate invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the detection rate will be matched with the treatment and recovery rate. For one, it is expedient to know the level of capabilities and resources available and its effectiveness compared to the required resources needed to ensure efficient and equity treatment from the disease. If the available resources and technical know how required for effective delivery of treatment is not sufficient to deliver quality health services to the diagnosed patients, then the assumption that diagnosis will placate death rate is without basis. Had the argument provided adequate information on the resources available to cater for people who are down with the disease, even then the argument will have to further prove that the treatment given is sufficient to cure the disease.

The argument also leaves many unanswered questions such as the success rate using the conventional means and the expected success rate should the new means of diagnosis be implemented. The argument has not successfully showed the gap it is aspiring to close or the target it aims to achieve. Nonetheless, the argument assumes that early detection will account for reduced death, this clearly leaves us with doubt of weather a late diagnosis commensurate deaths.

Finally, the arguments claims without warrant that early detection will assuredly lead to increase in death without explaining how the health work force has prepared for the increase in patients which will result from increase in diagnosis rate

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that as soon as the new test is instituted as a routine procedure in hospitals around the world, the death rate from this disease will plummet