“Leaders who are in significant positions of power should be democratically elected, not appointed.” Discuss if you agree or disagree with this statement and explain.

Regardless of if a leader was elected or appointed, leadership is only successful when the people being led are cooperative and agree to reach a consensus with the leader.

Arguably, a large percent of the world's presendents and head of states are appointed on the basis of democratic election. For example, Nigeria, a country in West Africa runs a democratic government where people elect leaders to siginificant positions such as the govenors of states and presidents. this kind of government is fortituious based on the assumption that a government elected basically by the people is always for the people. this kind of government is inclusive at least it is assumed to be and it is grassroot in nature such that the indigenious people are so relevant to the election process and an elected leader is assumed to depict a leadership wanted by the people and it is presumed that such leadership will attract more cooperation from the people. which in turn makes leadership easy and productive.

However, this is not always the case. it is worthy of note that some prospective leaders especially the politically inclined ones have a way of manipulap the people using painpoin to bribe the masses especially the benigted people.

Also. a leader appointed by a supposed person in authority is may be selected due to leadership traits which can only be easily recognised by someone in authority. this is sometimes free of sentiments that may be involved with the masses.

In conclusion, leaders are better of being elected for strategic postion but leadership should not be confined to this. A cetain level of appointment should be encouraged