“Leaders who are in significant positions of power should be democratically elected, not appointed.” Discuss if you agree or disagree with this statement and explain.

The process of selecting political leaders who could one day hold significant positions of power is a fundamental question in politics. One common process of selecting political leaders is through democratic elections, but on the other hand, the process of appointing new leaders serves as another course of action. It is clear, however, that democratic elections are the correct means of electing leaders who are in significant positions of power not only because it facilitates an equal representation and variety of perspectives, but also because it spreads power to the people in order to be a part of important political decisions.

To start, some may argue that political leaders should not be selected through democratic elections because people running may overestimate their abilities to lead or facilitate change. This presumption conveintently underestimates the common sense of the voting public. In order for this argument to hold true, you must also assume that the voters would not be able to sense this weakness and make a smarter choice.

In contrast to the process of appointment, democratic elections are clearly the better option for selecting political leadership positions of power because the voting process can help encourage a greater representation of the countries people and more variety of perspectives in the government. This is so incredibly important because if the people leading a country do not represent the people that live in that country, than there can be serious misunderstandings. The priorities of the government may not always align with the priorities of the people. For instance, in North Korea, where there are no democratic elections, the dictator lives a very different life than the people. The leader of North Korea has access to food and entertainment, while his people suffer and starve.

Secondly, the distribution of decision making power is much more balanced when countries democratically elect their leaders. The right to make decisions about the community one lives in is such a fundamental right of people that it almost seems absurd to most people to limit this power. For example, in America, we hold democratic elections most often between a democratic and a republican nominee. These political party classifications represent different ideas pertaining to the future of the country. If more Americans agree with the perspective of one canidate over the other, than that canidate becomes the President. It also facilitates a variety of perspectives because the public’s opinion of America’s future changes through time.

It is clear that democratic elections are far superior to the domineering process of appointing leaders. If a country decides to appoint a leader that is of a significant position of power, there could be serious consequences such as: unrest in the public, oppression of a group of people that differ from the appointed leader, or even a possibility of a dictatorship. The American procedure of democratic election, rather, brings peace and prosperity to our successful country.