People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many of us can relate to a time when we made a poor decision in an emotional state. For instance, if you have a child that is dying of cancer and there is an experimental drug that statistically may keep the child alive, but the logical costs outweight the gains, most parents would make a decision to try that experimental drug regardless. Although the logic does not follow the decision, most would agree it was still a smart decision to give the drug a try. Nevertheless, in most circumstances when people make decisions based on emotions and only consider logic as an afterthought, it tends to result in poor decisions because these individuals are in an altered mental state, they don't consider all the possibilities, and they ignore evidence that goes against their viewpoint.

To begin, when we are in an emotional state, we process information in an altered way. Oftentimes, in these situation, our brain goes into a "fight or flight" response where our body naturally functions in a different way than normal. Our blood pressure increases, our eyes dilate, our body favors energy reducing processes. It is only fair to say that the way we process information will nevertheless be affected. An interesting example of this is the situation of gun violence. In the case of a school shooting, many individuals believe they would make the choice to shoot the gunman if they were in a position of danger. However, according to recent studies, most people in that situation are actually not able to shoot the gun at all. Because they are in an very emotional setting they make a decision they would not make otherwise. They could justify this situation logically after the fact, say for instance they could say they were not aware of the controls of the gun or they couldn't find the bullets fast enough, but that still does not change the fact they still made a poor decision in the moment.

Another reason people who use emotion to make decisions end up to be poor decision makers is the fact that they oftentimes do not explore all possibilities before making a decision. If someone is making a decision based on emotion, they tend to cast out possible solutions for biased reasons, with statements such as "that could not possibly work" or "that would be so hard to do," only because they have another option in mind. In the case of teen pregnancy, many teens think they cannot possibly be a mother and must do something to alter their current situation. They may even decide early in the preganacy they are going to put the child up for adoption, because they are scared of the future. Once they do so, they may justify the decision because of finicial, educational, or other logical reasons, but they may find later find that they regret their decision when they are surrounded by resources and people who love them.

Finally, a common issue among individuals that make decisions emotionally is that they tend to ignore the information that goes against their viewpoint. We can see an example of this in politics. Often times when we see an emotional issue come to public attention, such as abortion or the death penalty, individuals will focus on moral evidence and ignore what scientists are saying, because they value some evidence as more important than other evidence. It's a natural thing for humans to do, but does not support effective decision making.

Although humans will always consider emotions when making important decisions, it does not help us be the most effective decision makers. As you can see, people who first consider emotions and leave logic as an afterthought tend to be poor decision makers because their altered mental state, how they don't consider all of the possibilities, and how they ignore evidence that goes against they believe.