Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. Of all the dance schools in Elmtown, Pirouettes has the most intensive program, and our teachers have danced in the most prestigious ballet companies all over the world. Many of our students have gone on to become professional dancers with top dance companies.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is possible that Pirouettes Ballet School truly is one of the best dance schools in Elmtown, however the argument presented here is flawed in two important aspects. Not only does the writer not cite any credible evidence to back their claim, but they are also misinterpreting correlation for causation.

For one, this argument fails to provide the necessary information to believe the claim that Pirouettes Ballet School is the clear choice for any child. This is so incredibly important, because as a business it is in their interest for you to believe your child will successed at this program, regardless of the tangible evidence they can provide. For example, maybe they want to suggest that they have the most intensive program in Elmtown, but when they compete at dance competitions they score lower than any other dance school in the area. If we are not provided with the evidence to back their claim, we cannot simply believe blindly. Another example would be the dancers that are going on to become professional dancers with top dance companies. They do not provide the style of dance, nor the individual company names for us to research on our own. It is possible that these dance companies are not as legitament as they suggest.

Another critical flaw of this argument is that it confuses correlation with causation. Just because the teachers at this ballet school have danced with prestigious ballet companies all over the world, does not mean they are going to be the best teachers for children. This is so important to consider because teachers are one of the most important parts of any dance school. For example, what if a teacher went to the very best ballet program and had the highest score totals at all the dance competitions she attended, but was irascible and impatient with children. She would certainly make a poor quality teacher. Another thing to consider is that the argument claims that many of their students have went on to become professional dancers with top dance companies. This is not necessarily because of their training at Pirouettes Ballet School. It is possible that Elmtown is on the west coast and is known as a breeding ground for professional dancers. Maybe the dancers they are addressing have very supportive families and grew up in favorable environments compared to dancers at other dance schools.

This argument does have some merit though and it could be strengthened by two simple actions. For one, they should provide more evidence for the type of training they are providing and empirical results of this training. This could be done by randomized judges scoring the dancers and by providing a clear outline of their teaching practices. Another way to ameliorate this flawed argument would be to stop confusing correlation with causation. Instead, they should only suggest information that they have real results to prove.

To conclude, it would be easy to believe that Pirouettes Ballet School was an impeccable choice at first glance, but when we dig into the heart of the argument presented here many flaws emerge. There is simply no evidence to support their claims and they are assuming their dance school is the cause of incredible preformance, not just correlated with it. If we continue to support these sorts of arguments, we are in for trouble. We must hold evidence and causation at the utmost importance when weighing arguments.