Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Some argue that the purpose of education is to prepare students for financially rewarding careers. This is true in some regard, as careers that tend to be financially rewarding to the individual are also quite vital to a successful society. For instance, many would say that a career in healthcare can be financially rewarding, and even more so if they engage in further education to become a specialist in their field. These specialists, such as brain surgeons, child psychiatrists, and others all contribute valuable assets to the community. Nevertheless, the sole purpose of education has never been, nor should it ever be only to prepare students for financially rewarding careers.

For one, our education system is set up so students learn more things than they could read out of a textbook. They are taught social interaction when they eat lunch with their peers, as well as discipline when they stand in line to go back to their classroom. When they interact with teachers they must also learn that they are to respect their elders and when they don’t they learn there will be consequences for their actions. These are all lessons we must learn to be successful members of our society. It can be argued that these skills contribute to successful financial outcomes in student’s futures, people don’t learn to be polite for the purpose of knowing how to act in an important interview one day - people learn this to be successful with other people.

Another purpose of education is to let individuals learn their passions. In school - especially higher education - students have choices when it comes to what they study. Many programs offer “pre-majors” so students can learn what they are good at and what they find most interesting. If the purpose of education was to prepare students for a successful financial future, there would likely be less programs offering programs in social work or elementary education, but that is not the case. One counter-argument to this, is that we do often times find more funding in schools for programs in science and engineering than we do for education and the arts, suggesting that higher education does believe that purpose of education should be focusing on careers that will set their student’s up for financial successful.

Finally, another reason that there is more to education than finding well paying jobs is the diversity of experience often required in education. As a neuroscience student, it would be most advantageous to a career if I focused only on classes such as neuroanatomy, cognition, and sense and perception, however, I also take courses in speech and history and language in order to become a well rounded member of my society. In order for students to both be advantageous in their career and in their life it is required to have a wide range of skills that education can provide. One could disagree and state that these courses can also increase preparedness for future financial success.

Although there are arguments that the sole purpose of education is to get student’s ready for high paying careers, in this response I have outlined that is not the only purpose. Education is also responsible for things such as life skills, building passions, and diversifying skills.