Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is no question that mass media and the internet have caused people's attentions spans to shorten. What the implication of this finding has on the overall effect for individuals is the important question. On one hand, people may say we have the ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what is important quicker is worthwhile. On the other, more pragmatic side, people may claim that the overall effect is negative and large amounts of information do not improve our abilities to process information at all. Not only are mass media and the internet resulting in the dangers of chronic multitasking, but also it is using a poor frame of reference to judge important information.

Technology and mass media have channged our world. It gives individuals an unprecedented level of information that can be revolutionary when used correctly. However, having access to information does not equate to using that information effectively, as assummed in this argument. At the end of the day, how we use information is far more important than the amount of information we have at our disposal.

Firstly, it is imperative to bring up that fact that it has been scientifically proven that multitasking reduces productivity. Cognive neuroscience refute the existence of multitasking in the first place, because they don't think it truly exists. They instead call this pattern of behavior, "task-switching". This is so critical to realize because technology enables, even encourages, users to have multiple screens, working on different projects, with background music and other distractions galore. This has been proved many times to reduce quality preformance. For example, if we are given one article to use as reference for a paper, we would be far more attentive and focused on the details of that article than if we had access to a whole online database. The more information we have, the less we value each source.

Secondly, we must consider how we judge important information. If the supposed benefit of technology is that we can quickly search through large quantities of information and select what is important, than shouldn't we be able to operationally define what is "important"? To put simply, what is salient to the human eye is not necessarily important, and that is a huge problem we must address before we defend technology so fiercly. For example, if we are researching a topic we have just listened to a lecture over, the key terms addressed by the professor will unconciously affect our ability to impartially scan through the information. If a certain key term catches our eye, we are more likely to assert that article is more important than others.

It is clear that techology helps people. It revolutionized our world and it is likely that as we progress as a society we will only interact with technology more and more. This, however, does not improve our ability to process information. Not only does this excess information reduce our preformance on specific tasks, but it also sways our understanding of what is important. The more people are aware of the dangers and pitfalls of technology, the more we will be able to address these problems and use information as effectively as possible in the future.