The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that if Super Screen Movie Production Company allocated more of their budget to advertising will increase public awareness and attendance of their movies is flawed. Just because more people may become aware of their movies through their increased advertising does not mean the people will like them or be wiling to watch them in the first place. The lack of a concrete basis for the argument render the advertising director's conclusion invalid.

More significantly, the argument is founded on the assumption that the incease in percentage of positive reviews in the past year correlates to increase in the total positive reviews so far. For one, the reviewers who dislike their movies may have unsubscribed altogether leaving the fewer total number of reviewers to be mostly comprised of fans. Had the argument compared the actual numbers of positive reviewers from the previous years to see if there was truly an increase then, the decline in Super Screen Movie Production Company's movies' viewership would have been surprising.

The argument leaves several other questions unanswered. Despite staing that the quality of their movies was not the problem, the argument omit other relevent factors. What if there was a global or city-wide incident prevent people from attending their movies the previous year - say a pandemic? Even if their was not such event or economic crisis, it is still possible that the people they will be reaching through their ads are already aware of their movies but simply do not like them.

Therefore, the advertising director's argument is illogical. Due to the absence of conclusive evidence, the argument fails to make a convincing case that allocating more of Super Screen Movie Production Company's budget to advertising will increase public awareness and attendance of their movies. The argument would have been compelling if the advertising director had shown that there was an actual increase in numbers of positive reviewers, that people's dislike of their movies was not the issue, or that any other random factor outside the company or people's control was the problem