It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Culture, the way of life, is the set of practices, behaviour and mannerism associated with a group of people. Some see culture as originating from the remote areas of a nation. Others see it as a sophisticated lifestyle created in the cities and massively adopted by the other regions of the nation. However, from historical trends, it is beyond doubt that the cultural traditions of a nation are generated and preserved in her cities.

A remarkable feature which constitutes part of a nation's culture is the common means of livelihood of the nation. The predominant occupation among the people of Egypt is farming. Over the centuries, the method of farming evolved around city life, from basic subsistent farming to commercialised farming making using of advanced machineries and techniques for crop planting and irrigation along the Nile river and food storage. When analysing the cultural traditions of Egypt, it is the higher level of ingenuity displayed in their cities' farming practices that will are ascribed to them. While their rural farming practices show how far they have come, certainly, their city work methods is what makes them unique even when compared to other natons and cultures.

Asides mean of livelihood, another integral part of a culture is fashion. It is no secret that the dressing typically associated with a nation stems from her city dress needs. The Lagos city's sense of style has so much influenced that of the whole nation - Nigeria. The city's style of re-fashioned native attires, crazy jeans and the likes are known to infiltrate the remote regions of the nation like wild-fire; every individual who values societal recognition or want to keep their influential status adjust to these fashion prctices at the snap of a finger. To have a real experience of a nation's fashion practices then you must visit her prominent cities.

The roles of the city in a nation's cultural practices are undeniable. As demonstrated in the music and in turn language preferences and evolution of a country, it would be illogical not to consider the city as the source. The songs of Fela Kuti, an icon in the Nigeria music industry, were pivotal in the nation's political movements. Such strong sways of music like Fela's reached past the urban areas to the trenches, where they also influenced how music has morphed into the colloquial communication of the citizens. As a result of such cultural waves of revolution emanating from the city, the nation of Nigeria was rocked to her core.

In conclusion, the lasting cultural traditions of a nation are generated and preserved in the city. While the means of livelihood, sense of fashion, music and language, even religion can be traced to the rural regions of a nation, upon doing the due diligence it becomes evident that even those cultural practices emerged when the said regions were the urban areas at that time. If anything, only the cities can truly generate, preserve or influence a nation's cultural traditions.