It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

A nation’s cultural traditions play a key role in the nation’s identity. They define the people’s way of living in that nation and also represent the heritage and history of that nation. The prompt claims that the cultural traditions of the nation is generated and preserved primarily in the cities. I find myself mostly disagreeing with that claim for the following reasons.

The busy lives of people living in the cities leads to the dilution in cultural traditions. A lot of big businesses run their operations from cities and everyone in general is very busy. Because of this it has become quite common to spend less time on things that usually used to take up significant time. For example, people used to perform long prayers on some festivals and nowadays, it has been shortened to small prayers. People are willing to spend lesser time on things that don’t contribute to their material pleasure and usually cultural traditions are the first to be affected by that behaviour. Hence, it is unlikely that cultural traditions can be preserved primarily by cities. In contrast, the rural areas or areas of a nation that are not as busy as cities are much more likely to preserve these traditions as people living here have much more leisure on their hands and hence, are more willing to spend their time and efforts on following cultural traditions.

People from all over the world keep visiting cities in a nation. It is much likely for foreigners living in the nation to live in cities rather than other nations. Since people from other nations tend to follow different cultural traditions, their interaction with natives will also have an affect on the cultural traditions being followed there. For example, cities like New Jersey are now a home to huge Indian population whose cultural traditions are quite different from those of the Americans. Situations like these can lead to a significant change in the cultural traditions being followed in that city especially when foreigners start to live with the native people. It can be argued that the combination of these diverse cultural traditions can lead to a new hybrid culture and this culture can evolve to become the new identity of the nation, thus generating the nation’s culture. The problem with this argument is that, such a tradition cannot stay constant and shall keep changing as the diversity of people keeps changing and hence cannot be preserved.

In conclusion, it is quite difficult for the cities of a nation to be the primary sources of generating and preserving its cultures because the rapid pace of lives of people in cities and the constantly changing diversity of the cities of nations are conducive to the dilution and modification of the cultural traditions being followed there.