The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

The Vice President of Climpson Industries recommended that electronic monitoring of internet be implemented on all the employees’ workstations to identify and punish those who use internet from their workstation for personal or recreational purposes. The Vice President comes to this conclusion because of the need to increase employee productivity thereby increasing profits and that monitoring internet usage will stop employees from wasting their time making them more productive. However, there are some assumptions made in giving this recommendation that might not hold true.

First of all, the Vice President assumes that employee productivity will increase directly by forcing them to spend more time on their work. It might be possible that continued work can lead to burnout rather than increased productivity and that taking breaks in the middle of work to spend some time on recreational activities are actually helping improve employee productivity. If this is the case, then implementing this recommendation would not result in any tangible benefits and might also result in additional losses.

Secondly, the second assumption made here is that punishing internet usage from workstations will discourage employees from wasting time altogether. It might be possible that the employees will continue to access internet from other sources such as their mobile phones and still end up spending wasting work hours on non work related activities. It might also be possible that making internet usage punishable would result in employees wasting their time in other ways, maybe by spending more time in the cafeteria or just sitting at their desk, staring at their workstation not doing any work. If this is true, it will render the reccomendation fallacious.

Thirdly, it is assumed in the recommendation, that in this method of monitoring there won’t be any false positives. It might be possible that a certain employee might be using the internet for legitimate purposes, perhaps shopping for gifts for the upcoming Christmas party in the office. It might also be possible that a certain employees’ workstation was used by somebody else to access internet without his/her knowledge. In these cases, this recommendation would end up punishing the wrong person or for the wrong reasons.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several fallacies. Unless the Vice President conducts a thorough study to find out more information and counter the above points, it will not be possible to recommend proper course of action to improve the productivity of employees and improve the profits of the company.