Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The manager's conclusion that the time spent on local and weather news should be restored to their formal levels, which was more than what is currently being spent. The manager comes to this conclusion because of the complaints received from the viewers and also the reduced advertising contracts. However before this recommendation can be validated, the following evidence is required to evaluate it.

Firstly, we need to know what the complaints recieved from the viewers are about. It is told to us that most complaints were concerned with the station's coverage of local and weather news. It might be possible that the complaints are about the actual content of the news that is being covered and not about the amount of time that they are covered for. In that case, this reason becomes irrelevant and hence does not support the main conclusion. It might also be possible that the complaints received were asking for even less time be spent on local and weather news. In that case, this becomes a reason to not go through with the conclusion.

Secondly, we need to know the exact reason for the cancellation of advertisements of local businesses. The manager is concerned with advertisers cancelling their advertising contracts for night time advertising. The manager assumed that the advertisers have cancelled their contracts because lesser time is spent on local and weather news. It might be possible, that the advertisers' business has run into some losses or diffculties due to which they have cancelled their contracts. In such a case, this reason also does not support the main conclusion.

Thirdly, we need to know whether reverting back to old schedules is going to help the station in protecting its advertising revenue and reduce the complaints received from the viewers. It might be possible as explained above, that the people complaining currently are concerned about the content rather than the amount of time it is being covered. In such case, increasing the amount of time will not necessarily solve the issue. Similarly, if there is some external economic condition forcing businesses to cut advertising costs, then the station might continue to lose its late night advertising revenue even after changing the time spent on local and weather news. It might also be possible that the current viewers are liking the increased time being spent on national news in which case, reducing it might result in a drop among the viewers and then lead to even more advertisers dropping out. Hence, this evidence will determine the efficacy of the recommendation of the manager.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed. As explained there is need for more evidence supporting the assumptions that viewers do not like the increased time being spent on national news and that local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts because less time is spent on local and weather news. Finally, evidence is also required to support the assumption that reverting back to old allocations of time is going to help the station as intended and will not backfire. If these evidences are present, we can reliably determine whether the stated argument is valid or not.