Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Discovery and creation are of paramount importance to science. It is through these that usually new scientific concepts are uncovered. The issue states that many important discoveries and creations are accidental. While it is true that there have been accidental discoveries and creations in history that have shaped the present, it would be imprudent to generalise it and state that many important discoveries are accidental.

There have been many important geographical discoveries in the past such as Columbus discovering the continent of America. He was searching for West Indies when he stumbled upon this continent. Many important minerals or materials have also been discovered in the past by accident. Along with that, important scientific creations such as the life saving penicillin, the first antibiotic drug was also created by accident. Similarly, many herbs or forest produce that hold importance were also discovered accidentally. But, one should also remember that these discoveries were made during times when the theoretical knowledge of science was very less and also the technology in those times was very lacking.

Many discoveries in the recent past have been made through deliberate and planned effort rather than by accident. The discovery of the life saving Covid-19 vaccine and other such drugs were developed by pharmaceutical companies through planned effort where they sought to achieve the exact same thing that they ended up achieving. Similar was the discovery of the transistor, semiconductors etc. Today, we have enough knowledge and technology in our hands that we leave very less to chance.

Humanity has been making breakthrough discoveries in the recent past and all of these have been guided by proper planning and not by accidents - be it in the domain of science, geography or even areas like history and economics. We have created rockets, satellites, planes, ships, artificial intelligence, advanced surgical procedures and so much more. To say that many important discoveries or creations are accidental would be to credit all these efforts of talented people to mere luck.

In conclusion, while some of the foundations of modern science such as gravity or electricity were discovered by accident, it would be an overstatement to say that many important discoveries were made by accident seeing the many remarkable discoveries that mankind has made in the recent past not by accident but by deliberate efforts.