A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The primary education that a student receives impacts him heavily for the rest of his life. The prompt recommends that a nation requires all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. This recommendation is completely valid and is very useful to the nation as a whole because it helps in standardizing the curriculum across the nation and it helps in better understanding the level of educational talent present in the nation, but there have to be some exceptions to it as discussed below.

Having the same curriculum across the nations helps to standardize many other examinations that are held at the high school level. For example, for entering into college, many colleges conduct entrance exams and if students of different regions are taught different concepts, then conducting a single standard exam becomes more difficult. This results in situations where a reputed college of a particular state will only be able to cater to students of a particular region because the concepts required for their entrance test are only known to these students. This prevents the college from having diversity among students and ultimately hampers its overall progress. In contrast, a standardized test can be made possible if all the students across the nation have learnt a single set of concepts, and it mitigates such problems. The same benefit can be seen with many other competitive exams and olympiads held at the national level.

A national curriculum helps in the holistic improvement of the students. For example, if a particular state puts too much emphasis on STEM domains even at the high school level, the students will not be able to explore their other talents be it arts, sports, or music. Hence, mandating a well designed curriculum helps students discover all their talents and improve in a holistic manner.

Having the same curriculum also provides another benefit, i.e, helping the government better understand the educational talents of different states/regions. For example, if a particular state's curriculum is relatively difficult compared to other regions, it is possible for that state to have a lower percentage of meritorious students compared to other states. This will lead the government to wrongly estimate the talents of the students of that region. Instead, by having the students follow the same curriculum as is being followed across the nation, the government can get proper actionable data that is useful to them. If they know that a particular region of students are not able to perform as well as everybody else, they can reliably know that they need to pay more attention to that particular area. Also, having the same curriculum helps better lay out the academic framework.

However, it is also important to provide some flexibility to the curriculum because different regions have different cultures and regional languages. So, there should be provisions in the curriculum for the students to learn about their own cultures and regional languages for the preservation of the said cultures. For example, India has rich culture and every region's culture signifies that region's history and that region's languages carry along with them the same culture. Hence, it would be imprudent to make the curriculum inflexible in this regard.

In conclusion, mandating a national curriculum helps greatly in standardizing many important exams, it helps the national government properly estimate the talent of the nation which helps the government in better designing academic frameworks. However, certain flexibility has to be provided keeping in mind the importance preservation of different regional cultures.