“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

The above argument that employing the same strategy as a Movies Galore store in a certain location will yield the same results as their other store is flaw and not well substantiated for reasons and unanswered questions discussed below.

From the argument, there is not mention of exploration of other strategies asides the reduction of operating expenses to tackle Movies Galore’s challenge of declining profits. Considering other options will give the store owner better perspectives and deeper insights on the best approach to reverse the profits decline.

Movies Galore may be famous for their for their special bargains but there is no evidence of research to support this claim. There could be a new store offering better bargains to customers or even an existing store slashing down their prices temporarily to drive customers their way.

Also, the one Movies Galore’s store that has been able to decrease its operating expenses has only had a month to do so. One month is insufficient, to ascertain that they have fixed their profits decline.

Again, we do not know if the all the stores are in the same location as the economic situation varies from place to place. Therefore, the location factor cannot be neglected in the argument.

Lastly, thereis no mention of investigation of the cause of the profits decline in the first place. If the main cause is known such as it being customers going on vacation, then it can be fied

From the presented reasons, there is insufficient data to follow the same strategy used at a Movies Galore’s store to their other stores.