In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The author of the given passage concludes that the safety effort of reducing the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all major highways in Prunty County has not been able to decrease the number of accidents in Prunty County whereas in Butler County, who took varied measures like increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections in 5 years, have seen significantly less number of accidents even though the speed limit is the same i.e 55 miles per hour. The author claims that there are 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Despite the evidence provided by the arguer, the argument has many flaws. The argument of the author is based on many assumptions like the terrain of both the Counties are more or less the same, the awareness amongst the people in both the counties are similar, etc. Along with this, the author ignores numerous other factors that might be the basis for more accidents, instead the author just focuses on the speed limit. Although the speed limit might be a major factor, it might not be the only one.

To begin with, the author assumes that the terrain and topography of both the couties is similar. However, the Prunty county might be situated in a hilly region where there might be no possibility of widening the roads and providing clarity at dangerous intersections. On the contrary, there is a possibility that the infrastructure in Prunty County is well maintained and clear and thus, drivers might have incentive to drive rashly. To corroborate this, it is stated in the argument that there are many drivers that break the speed limit rule. This leads to another point. The rules in Butler County might be stricter, more effectively implemented and followed. This can also lead to reduced number of accidents.

Moreover, it is stated that the speed limit on all major highways has been reduced to 45 miles per hour. However, the accidents may be occurring on other roads where there is no speed limit (like the streets). Along with this, it is stated that the Butler County took five years to build infrastucture and provide more assistance at intersections. However, the author compares one year change of Prunty County with 5 year change of Butler County. More number of years might lead to people being more cautious and aware about the amounts of accidents and thus prefer safer driving than rash driving.

Thus, in conclusion, all the above points state a few possibilities where the number of accidents in Prunty County might not be decreasing and as a result weaken the author's argument.