Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The presented issue is states that "Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country". On one hand, it will cost a lot to send a student to foreign country. On the other hand, student will get a great exposure. This is thus, a very contentious issue and needs meticulous analyses to reach a conclusion. However, in my view, a universities should not require a student to spend at least one semester studying in foreign country.

Firstly, most of the students or their parents do not have financial position to pay the tuition fees and other expenses including living conditions, food, textbooks that may be required to study the courses etc. For example, for a student studying in developing country, he would have to pay a huge amount as tuition fees to just get into a good university. If the student can not afford to pay the fees, then he or she would have to compromise with a university where fees is low but so is the quality of education. As for the developed countries, they already offer highest level of education. Hence, there is no point to pay extra and study from a university lower in rank than they are already studying.

Secondly, the primary purpose of a student to go and study in a foreign university is to get the most out of it. However, because of enormous fees along with other expenses mentioned above, the student might have to work in order to compensate this huge sum of money. For example, a student might have to work in a nearby restaurant as a waiter. He would have to directly report to the restaurant after university timings. This means that a student may not be able to devote time to study or he would have to stay awake till late of the night to compensate. Either ways, student will suffer (either in terms of grades or in terms of health due to lack of sleep).

However, some may argue that the amount of exposure you get is commendable. Not only that, usually a student gets adapted to be with collegues who have similar interest and intellectual as that of him or her. This makes a student lack creativity. Furthermore, the amount of knowledge gained by studying in high rated universites is enourmous. However, with growing technology, outreach has easened and world has become a smalled place. A student can always join a community with students have varied interests. Student can always opt for online courses offered by many online platforms such as coursera, udacity etc. The student can join their community to increase network and exposure. In fact, working with them may enhance a students critical thinking.

In conclusion, local universities should not focus on sending students to study in foreign country, but should focus on bringing the experience to local university and increasing the quality of education they provide.