Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

The given prompt states that students should always question what they are taught instead of blindly or passively accepting it. On one hand, students can increase their command on a concept by asking questions whereas on the other hand, some subjects might not require comprehensive understanding in order to attain mastery. This is thus, a very contentious issue and needs scrupulous analysis to arrive at any conclusion. However, I strongly agree that students should always question what they are taught instead of passively accepting it.

To begin with, asking questions improves a student's command over a concept or subject. For example, a student is facing difficulties in understanding finance related chapter. If the student prefers to keep his or her questions to himself or herself, then in short term this may affect his or her grades but in long term, he or she will end up to be a bane for the society. Given that the student has weak hold of the concepts crucial in the real world, he or she is bound to either take wrong decisions related to finance or take a prolonged time in taking a simple decision had that concept been clear to him. Had he asked that question, he would not have to face all this. Furthermore, a doubt or question might not be restricted to an individual. There might be many other students who have more or less the same query. Instead of myriad students having weak concepts, it is much better if a student asks even a slightest doubt to clarify the concept more.

Furthermore, the quality of education will increase. The professor should be able to answer the queries raised by students. In fact, the professor would have to be an expert in his or her subjet. Not only that, he or she would have to go in deth of each and every concept taught instead of just covering it only superficially. For example, for a computer science student, knowing how a particular code (for instance "for loop") works, can prove to solve many real life problems. In fact, having the knowledge of what happens at machine level indicates a mastery in that subject.

Nonetheless, students tend not to ask too many questions. If majority of their peers are asking questions, they too won't feel shy about asking their own qualms. Consequently, the student becomes bold. In fact, it helps in developing a bond between the faculty and the student. This way, the faculty would strive to make the students each and every concept crystal clear and be ready to answer any questions that might be raised. As a result, this becomes a win-win situation, not only for the student but also for the faculty.

However, a student must never forget that there are certain concepts which go unquestionably. For instance, majority of P.E trainers first teach the theory of correct technique to maximize the efficiency with minimal strain of muscles. This must not be objected otherwise a student will end up injuring himself. Thus, the student must understand the situations in which he or she can ask questions and when he or she has to follow the instructions.

Even though, there are some situations where sutdents should follow their teachers unquestionably, asking question always has proved to be beneficial not only for the student but, in turn, for the society as well. Thus, all the above points stated strengths the conclusion that students should question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.