Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author concluded that in order to attract more viewers to news programs and to avoid losing advertising revenues, the news channels should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all their news programs. The author provides evidence to these stating that their late night programs have increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Furthermore, during the same perioud they have recieved many complaints from the viewers, concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with them. Although, the author has provided certain evidence, most of them have flaws and open a lot of possibilities because of which complaints are recieved and investment is deteriorating.

To begin with, the author assumes that because they have increased time to national news and less time is devoted to weather and local news, their viewers are complaining about it. However, it is a possibility that the news company might not be providing weather and local news even during the day. This might increase the complaints recieved by viewers. Never it is stated that the complaints recieved are from the late-night viewers. For instance, many people might be wanting to know the weather conditions before planning a trip and mostly they might be planning during the day but due to lack of weather news they might have to either delay or put in extra efforts in findning news about it. This might lead to more complaints being delivered concerning the weather news.

Furthermore, the author assumes that most of the complaints recieved from viewers are regarding the late-night shows. However this might not be the case. Most of the viewers might go to sleep or take rest from all day work. They might not even be watching the late-night shows organized by the news company. Even if some of them are watching, they might not be concerned regarding the weather and local news as they might not just care about the weather news at late-night and there is a possibility that they have already recieved the local news from various other sources such as local newspapers or interactions with collegues and other social groups. This means that they might actually be wanting to watch national news and thus may not be the reason of increasing complaints or decreasing investment from local businesses.

Elucidating the above point of less number of viewers watching the late-night shows. Because of this the TRP of the shows might decrease dramatically. Consequently, local businesses might rethink about their investment in late-night shows. This might have lead to some of the businesses canceling the advertising contracts with the news company. Thus, the canceling of advertising contracts might not solely be due to the news company not covering weather and local news.

Thus, all the above points are flaws in the author's assumptions and thus, they weaken the argument and conclusion stated in the passage.