Independent TOEFL essay TPO 13 A D The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

The statement brings the topic of extended families under scrutiny. I personally feel, the issue at hand is very subjective since no two families are exactly similar. Although the number of smaller, nuclear families has now increased in comparison with the past, it does not necessarily imply that the importance of extended family members has decreased.

At the outset, I would like to discuss the Indian context since I can effectively relate to the family structure in my own country. Indian families today have reduced in size. An individual usually prefers to live only with his wife and kids. This was not true in the past where integrated Indian families were a commonplace. However,even today, during festivals or ceremonies like marraige or after the death of a family member, a strong bond can be observed among these families. All the family members come together and every individual's opinion counts. You may also find the odd integrated family still living together. Personally, I live in a family of eight including my parents, grandparents, my uncle, aunt and a cousin. For any occasion or before any important decision the entire family-immediate and extended- is consulted.

In the western world however, the scenario changes. In the western, more developed countries, families tend to be secluded. Extended family members are invovled only during special occasions and tend to have very less or no impact on the lives of an individual. For instance my friend living in the United States visits his grandparents maybe once or twice every year. They rarely have any information about his life events, the progress he is making at school or his future plans. In contrast, my grandparents, living in the same house, know everything about my life. In my opinion, these differences in families can be observed all over the world. As culture, values and ethics change the importance of extended family members will change accordingly.

To summarize, I feel generalizing the trend that the importance of extended family members has decreased, is an over-simplification of a complex phenomenon. Getting a better and a more accurate picture is also very difficult due to the differences that I have outlined hitherto among various families.