Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 13: A/D? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

In the past, before 1800 A.D., most of the people were lived around the castle in suburban. they worked as tenants, growing crops for the whole community. In order to exploit labor force completely, they live together with their relatives, which named extended family. But the situations are pretty different right now and the extended families are less important, comparing with 18 centurys.

The most part would be the difference of works. Back in the days, people were mostly farmers and they tend to live together as an extended family in order to make use of everyone in the house. The same kind of work would be passed on to the next generation so their children would do the exact same work as their parents. Therefore, the whole family stayed in the same place and work as a team generation by generation. That is why the extended families were so important back then. However, modern people are more independent and we have so many career options to choose, like architects, painters, engineers, bankers. And it certainly broke the connection between relatives in the families. We are now free from the land restriction and work restriction. We can move wherever we want without punishments.

Then, the developement of the cities made the extended families even less essentail to our lives. In the big cities, people lived in apartments, which means that people are seperated into little group or individual. As a result, we have less contacts with others, including our relatives even though they might lived in the same building.

Last but not least, self consciousness are more enhanced these days, we care more about ourselves than the monarch or inadequate medeival rules. For example, we almost heard something that encourages this trend like "you should be proud of youself.", "this is who you are." All these sentences reflect the modern scene of our lives and it was not possible to say that in the past. Consequently, the importance of individual overshadowed that of extended families.

Due to the reasons above, the extended families are now less important than in the past. Although, some might suggest that it is still essentail for us to stay in touch with our gradparents and cousins, the importance of the extended families are reduced by many factors and there are only a few people live as a huge family nowadays.